Skip to content

Reflections on 2009, and food too..

January 7, 2010

So, I am a little late on posting this up… and not that it isn’t incredibly intriguing and amusing to answer questions that positively summarize my life spent in the year of 2009…but of course life happens as you are planning to live, or something like that…

Well what can I say, I jumped ships. I successfully spent one year back in Austin and decided to take the huge plunge of moving to California (also known as the bankrupt state) and so far it has been one delightful and wild ride, to say the very least…

Through a SF food blog I like very much Gastronomie, I became aware of Gwen Bell’s challenge to blogger’s, to blog about their personal ‘Best of 2009’ and unlike the many other bloggers who participated in cataloging their own Personal Best of 2009, I have not gone into such great lengths, I have simply tried to keep it short and sweet (think macarron). I truly have enjoyed reading so many answers and experiences shared by the 700 plus bloggers who also took the challenge to reflect on the Best of 2009.
Here is hoping for a peaceful, prosperous, loving and always creative 2010. In other words, I hope it’s f*#king fabulous!

December 1 Trip. What was your best trip in 2009?

Visiting SF for the first time in August and subsequently falling in love in the process. Never a bad thing.

December 2 Restaurant moment. Share the best restaurant experience you had this year.

Aziza in San Francisco. It was a truly romantic dinner and incredible dining experience. The Hen’s Egg and Sardine’s on toast, literally inspired me to start writing this blog ( as well as my healthy obsessive admiration with all things pork, donuts and Frank Bruni )

Walking into Aziza is like walking into a Moroccan den of culinary delight, and then some…..I want to live inside of Aziza (as in turn the back room into a bedroom). The lighting is referred to as ‘smart’, the service was completely seamless, and the food was outstanding (an understatement).

December 3 Article. What’s an article that you read that blew you away?

At the moment what comes to mind most is Wednesday and Frank Bruni’s weekly dining review in the New York Times (before Frank Bruni passed the torch)

December 4 Book. What book – fiction or non – touched you?

I really enjoyed Eckhart Tolle’s book “A New Earth”. I feel it is that of a book I should read again. I am also really enjoying the long linger of “The Sex Life of Food” by Bunny Crumpacker (minus the B). This is a book I have never managed to buy, but would always peek at while spending much time alone at mainstream bookstores in Houston. I can’t help and wonder why I never acquired it before or maybe I was afraid of being spotted in line holding a book with both -food and sex- in the title ( the familiar feeling of being in the ’10 items or less’ line with wine, cat food, ice cream and batteries ) who knows..should have driven to Waller and bought the book!
Both books are on the short list of a much longer and generous book gift list. Someone who loves Amazon must love me something special, thank you someone;)

December 5 Night out.

Memorable night out was actually a night in, a monthly -Ladies’ night-hosted by me. A few of my closest friends whom I have known for like 15 years came over for dinner. (insert buying/borrowing minimal furniture here) To begin, tomato jam with cheddar gougeres with the first bottle of White wine .
Followed by fresh seared scallops, cucumber, olive sauce, lemon confit, and crispy tortilla things. Dessert (cooked by a guest) was a delicious molten chocolate cake with balsamic strawberries. Sadly enough a few of us got a bad case of well…the runs, aka food poisoning!

December 7 Blog find of the year. That gem of a blog you can’t believe you didn’t know about until this year.

Sea of Shoes. A favorite blog of fashion insiders and well written by a fashionable teenager in North Texas ( who happens to have great taste and access to her mother’s vintage wardrobe ), it is completely inspiring in every stylish way possible.
Also of note..on the radio, The Half-time show with Charlie Hodge daily on KLBJ around noon-ish. Don’t remember how I discovered this show, but it is the funniest s%*t ever, and really got me through most days…I need some podcasts of that right about now.

December 8 Moment of peace.

Beginning of the year for my birthday, I treated myself to ‘My Own Private Paradise’ (Sean Bean was unavailable) a spa package that included an invigorating body scrub, a facial, a much-needed massage and lunch. Thank you to the – Inn at Onion Creek.

December 10 Album of the year. What’s rocking your world?

Phoenix- Wolfgang Amadeus and the Animal Collective album, Merriweather Post, I am so addicted to both!

December 11 The best place

Farmer’s market at the Ferry Building

December 12 New food.

a re-discovery of Wasabi peanuts. Whole roasted squid, and the duck with yukon gold and watermelon chutney from Sushi Ran. Not entirely new, but still can’t get enough of pork belly and bone marrow, even sometimes in the same meal, just not the same plate.. Oh, and did I mention Gourdough’s donuts??…Well Gourdough’s donuts!

December 13 What’s the best change you made to the place you live?

Did not get furniture in my apt. until I absolutely had to. I loved the feeling of living in an extremely minimalist Open gallery space, lacking in television, only books stacked shortly on the floor… and then I moved across the country and began to re-decorate my new living space, like where you move furniture from one room to the next.

December 14 Rush. When did you get your best rush of the year?

behaving in a most ‘daring’ way, by sending a quick note of ‘Hello’ to an interesting man, whom I was repeatedly told that I should meet…

December 15 Best packaging.

any box from Amazon.

December 16 Tea of the year.

Tie between peach (black) and green. The peach was interesting when turned into a smooth pot de crème baked in tea cup, topped with cream fraiche and bacon, an interesting way to drink tea.

December 17 Word or phrase. A word that encapsulates your year. “2009 was _____.”

interesting, very interesting

December 19 Car ride.

Car ride from the Oakland airport through SF to Sausalito. It could have been totally silent in the vehicle, or maybe we did speak. Not sure what was said if anything was said, but it just felt like absolute peace, joy and love. ( Reminiscent of High school, and of a euphoric feeling acquired through the usage of gateway pharmaceuticals during this time ) There is always a light at the end of every tunnel…

December 22 Startup.

Gourdough’s donuts, Austin,Tx. Proof that anything is possible, and some prayers can be answered. It is special because it is the first food trailer in Austin to peddle crack, I mean hot doughy made to order donuts. These incredible and addicting delights involve bacon….only at your discretion. Yes, please and thank you Ryan.

December 24 Learning experience.

the words and actions of;
letting go, trusting, believing in the impossible and the possible, taking chances by doing things that completely scare you, again and again.

December 25 Gift. What’s a gift you gave yourself this year that has kept on giving?

Storm Trooper white Casio g-shock watch.

December 27 Social web moment. Did you discover Twitter?

I swore to myself that I would not succumb to the Twitter experience, so of course I managed to. ( end of 2009 ) I still mumble to myself daily that I may in fact delete my Facebook page, any day now… Is there a difference between socially networking and simply networking? Or stalking and updating and anticipation of updates and statuses and updates. It gets confusing and mentally exhausting keeping up…But I did manage to re-connect with many old friends through Facebook and even meet a few new ones along the way. So talk less and Twitter more..or just listen.

December 29 Laugh. What was your biggest belly laugh of the year?

most every moment I have spent with the special someone ( when boyfriend sounds dated, lover; cliche, man-friend; like the dog I don’t currently own ) in my life has been full of laughs and laughs and more laughs… I honestly haven’t laughed this consistently for quite some time, and it feels amazing.
Let me not forget time spent with co-workers from my previous job. When we weren’t laughing we were working..good times;) (using twinkle fingers -“That reminds me of a calico cat”)

December 30 Ad. What advertisement made you think this year?

anything that use to feature Tiger Woods. Particular reminder of Tiger on the Gatorade bottle with the words ‘Focus’.

December 31 Resolution you wish you’d stuck with. (You know, there’s always next year…)

that my love affair with carbs was over….Dear Bread, leave me alone, it is over, now go away. Go very far away… and take your friend pasta. It pains me that I am not capable of digesting Carbs in the most furious way that I am able to consume them. How do these fabulous French and Italian women manage it?? Genes..bollocks!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

