Skip to content

Salted Chocolate Chip cookies

November 9, 2010

Salted Chocolate Chip cookies, well why not?

This is a recipe for chocolate chip cookies that I really like. Come to think, it’s the only one I’ve deliberately used for some time. I guess you could call it, my standby.

Over the years, I’ve definitely played around with the ingredients when making this cookie and made adjustments to it accordingly. Sometimes adding oatmeal, frequently adding walnuts and recently introducing butterscotch chips into the mix.

Last year for a dessert tasting, I added both oatmeal and butterscotch chips, salted the cookies and paired them along side Meyer lemon curd (for dipping).

Salted Chocolate chip cookie with Oatmeal and Butterscotch Meyer lemon curd

I’d like to say this sealed the deal but it didn’t (my Churros were the biggest interest). I still hooped through a bit more tryout with that group, and in the end if anything, I was pleased to be able to expose them to salted cookies (a surprise, go figure) and inspire them to add churros to the menu. Wonder if they did.

I’ve written before about my adoration for chocolate and salt. Recently I’ve made Barbara Lynch’s “Favorite Chocolate cookie” which is an intense and deliciously incredible cookie. Again, I highly recommend making these if you too appreciate  the chocolate and sea salt pairing. They are astonishingly good.

I’m always open to making or just eating, a really good chocolate chip cookie. “The Perfect Chocolate Chip cookie” on Dana Treat looks really inviting. I’d be interested in trying this recipe in the future and discovering if it is in fact “perfect”.

A sweet and dear friend of mine celebrated a Birthday at the end of October. Knowing she had family in town, I couldn’t think of a better way to honor her special day (and treat her family) than by making some Chocolate chip cookies.

I excluded the oatmeal this time, but kept the walnuts in and butterscotch chips. As experiment, I salted half of the cookies I gifted her and not surprising, the salted cookie was the preferred choice.

 

Salted Chocolate Chip cookie

10 oz. butter (un-salted)

16 oz. brown sugar

1 1/4 oz. vanilla extract

3 eggs

1 tsp. salt (plus more for sprinkling)

14.7 oz. A.P. flour

1 # chocolate chip pieces*

8 oz.walnuts (toasted and chopped)

4 oz. oatmeal

4 oz. butterscotch chips

 

Directions

1. Cream butter and sugar

2. Add eggs and vanilla

3. Add flour and salt

4. Add chocolate and walnuts

4a. Do not over mix

5. Bake at 350 degrees until slightly brown/golden

6. Sprinkle with coarse kosher salt

*Chocolate Chip I’ve used semi-sweet chips (by Ghiradelli) in the past, which work great and produce a different tasting cookie with an entirely different personality. Now I’ve become accustomed to using the 60% baking bar (also Ghiradelli) and rough chopping it into pieces. This produces a stronger tasting cookie, which I enjoy. I’ll definitely continue in experimenting with this recipe, and make two versions, using the two types of chocolate.

*walnuts –The original recipe called for 1# walnuts. I’ve since experimented by changing the ratio of walnuts and adding oatmeal and butterscotch chips. Pistachios also work really well in this recipe.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

