Skip to content

Kale chips

November 29, 2010

Last week I finally made kale chips and I really can’t believe it took me this long to make them. I’ve seen them on various food blogs and they’ve been featured in multiple food magazines (some of which I subscribe). I’ve even had the pleasure of eating them early this year when I assisted a raw food Chef at a spa retreat. I thought they were brilliant at the time (like discovering sliced bread). I also thought at the time, the safety guard was brilliant on the mandoline slicer. But I never got around to making them after that experience. I was thumbless.

So maybe I found the popularity of kale chips unappealing. Much in the same way, I didn’t see Forrest Gump until a good year after, I decided to wait until the time was right.  So the time became right recently. So what really was I waiting for? An invitation? The stars to align? Not sure, but I can be certain I’ll be making them again and again. I’ve promised myself to keep them in my -go to- aresnal. Almost as good as crispy bacon..

The Pros: they are crispy, slightly salty and not entirely bad for you. As well, a bunch of kale costs less than 2 dollars at the market. A bag of chips will cost you more.

Cons: can become impossible to stop eating them (like a bag of Lay’s originals). They also can burn quickly if you are not paying attention. So pay attention and don’t burn the crisps.

The glass is always half full. Go ahead and make kale chips.

Baked Kale chips with flax seed

 

Directions

Set your oven for 375 degrees.

Remove rib from kale leaves. Wash thoroughly and pat dry completely. (A salad spinner works well, but you still might need to dry  leaves making sure they are moisture free).

Brush or spray leaves with olive oil. Lightly coated works best.

Sprinkle with salt and flax seeds.

Lay leaves on sheet pan and bake in the oven for about 10-12 minutes until crispy to the touch.

*I’ve seen garlic oil used in a recipe along with sesame seeds. Add your own seasonings as you like (Mrs. Dash anyone?) to give kale chips your special touch.

I added my kale chips to a salad and even sprinkled a few on cauliflower soup, when I wasn’t just eating them out of the bag.

Endless snacking.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

