Skip to content

December

December 26, 2010

It’s always a transition returning from a Holiday. In my case I’m referring to a vacation. I was in (normally warm and sunny) Miami for a few weeks. It was an absolute delight and I savored every minute of the trip. While I was there the temperatures dropped into the 30’s and Florida experienced the first serious freeze in some 45 years. Not exactly the weather I had in mind traveling from San Francisco in December. But we made up for it by doing some serious exploring, lying on the beach (despite the chill) and enjoying some incredible Gastronomic experiences. Hello, Sra.Martinez. I will be adding some photos from said meals soon.  In the meantime, here are a few things I am thankful to enjoy while I’ve been back….

Happy Holidays!

When I think of Holidays I think of cookies. I couldn’t not bake cookies. These are Almond nut cookies (Mexican wedding cookies). They always remind me of Christmas. Perhaps because I think of biscochitos for some reason. I topped these with a bit of cardamom and a little powdered sugar. The sugar cookie dough is chilling as I type..

Gorgeous new dessert wine glasses.

Lovely gifts (some via Austin).

Borscht soup with dumplings (a Polish Christmas Eve tradition).

Tamales from Mi Pueblo and Pierogi from the Polish deli (strangely they were not eaten together). For Christmas day and Christmas eve.

Happy succulents drenched from weeks of rain.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bert Entwhisker permalink
    January 25, 2011 10

    What? No Manolos?

    Your man must be a cheapskate.

    Just sayin’

    Bert

Leave a Reply

