Skip to content

For the love of Turkey

January 2, 2011

As soon as the turkey came through the kitchen door, I could smell left-overs.

Initially, I was quite leery of this large bird. I grimaced at the thought of all the turkey meat we’d be left with after it was cooked. And then I’d have to dispose of the carcass. What. a. mess. And I am not specifically referring to the man who bought this turkey.

I have nothing against turkey, but it just seemed unreasonable for two people alone to eat a turkey dinner. All that bird. Two people? Really? I wasn’t thrilled. I expressed my lack of thrillment.

I then thought realistically.  How many times a year would I have the chance to eat a turkey dinner? The answer is once, maybe twice. Considering I didn’t cook a bird this past Thanksgiving, there didn’t seem to be a better time than to cook one now. In the spirit of giving thanks, sharing and feasting with loved ones, I happily put on my game face and welcomed the gobbler into the kitchen.

The bird was slathered with herb butter and stuffed delicately with lemons, garlic and radicchio. It roasted beautifully in the oven for several hours (covered for the latter part, resulting in a tender and juicy entity). And in the end the turkey was a blessing, yielding days of meals (some which would see the inside of a freezer).

After Christmas, the turkey sat in the refrigerator covered by a large blanket of foil. Slightly intimidating. It didn’t take long for the pecking to begin. Eventually, I de-boned the entire bird and made a stock out of the carcass. Here are a few of the meals that have followed:

Dinner 1. White meat with gravy, served with salad. Simple and carb-less.

Dinner 2. Pantry Paella (my second attempt). Turkey, mexican chorizo, peas and sardines (canned). Felt like a convenience store challenge. Delicious result.

Lunch 1. Turkey salad (shredded dark meat, mayo, red rooster hot sauce, basil, almonds) on toasted wheat bread with avocado, tomato and cheddar cheese.

Lunch 2. The following day I had a small amount of  leftover turkey salad, so I decided to put the turkey salad into endive leaves. I also topped it with pomegranate seeds and it made for a nice snack. This would also work well as an hors d’oeuvre with a glass of champagne. It’s also carb-less and this makes me happy. As does champagne.

Southwest Turkey soup is next..

Turkey salad in endive leaf

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

