Skip to content

Flatbread

February 7, 2011

Coca de chorizo con pera, albahaca y queso fresco

 

When you have a bit of flour, a bit of milk, a bit of time and a few packets of yeast, make flatbread. It’s really quite simple.

The other night while I was in preparation for making Fideo (a dish from my childhood), I was suddenly informed we’d be a party of three. I quickly scanned the cabinet for ideas and located a recipe for Coca, a traditional Catalan flatbread in a Jose Andres book I had handy.

To make the dough, yeast is dissolved in warm milk. Add this to a mixer with the hook attachment, along with flour and salt. After the dough comes together put it in a bowl slicked with a little olive oil. Cover for about 30 minutes. It needs to rest and rise. Also gives you a chance to watch the sunset.

After 30 minutes portion the dough in half (or quarters) and roll out on a lightly floured service. On the Fideo night, I topped the flatbread with slices of pear and canned sardines in chili oil. I also added a sprinkle of queso fresco and fresh basil. The flatbread turned out beautifully and was a nice accompaniment to a glass of Viognier. The Fideo was a success as well.

The following day I was hungry for another flatbread. I removed the extra dough that I had tucked into the fridge and let it come to room temperature. I then rolled it and added a few toppings. In lieu of sardines I added cooked chorizo (also spicy). I used again the sliced pears, queso fresco and fresh basil. Perfect for dinner with a small salad and glass of red.

I used to think that gougeres were my there’s suddenly company appetizer. But now I think I’m going to put the tomato jam and gougeres on standby. Flatbread has endless spur-of-the-moment possibilities.

 

Flatbread adapted from: Tapas, A taste of Spain in America by Jose Andres

Ingredients:

1/2 ounce (2 envelopes) active dry yeast

1/2 cup whole milk (at room temperature)

1 cup plus 3 tbsp. A.P. flour, plus extra for work surface

1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

In the bowl of a mixer stir the yeast into the milk. Add the flour and salt to the bowl. Using the hook attachment, mix on low for about a minute, or until the dough has come together. Put the dough into a bowl with a little oil and cover with plastic wrap. Set aside, and allow the dough to rise at room temperature.

Heat the oven to 350 degrees.

After 30 minutes, remove the dough from the bowl and knead for about 5 minutes. Cut the dough into 8 equal pieces (Jose style) and roll each into a ball. Roll each ball of dough out on a lightly floured surface, into long thin strips. 10 inches long and 2 inches wide.

Prick the strips with a fork to prevent air bubbles from forming. Place the dough strips on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle of salt.

At this point, I added the pears and sardines first and let cook until golden, about 10 minutes. I then added the queso fresco and let it cook another few minutes.

Garnish with fresh basil or other herbs to complement the toppings.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 11, 2011 10

    With chorizo? Sounds amazing!! Sopa de fideo is the best. My mother used to make this all the time. No wonder I was gordita going up.

Leave a Reply

