Skip to content

Squash Blossoms

June 28, 2011







I could tell you a long, detailed and wonderful story about my relationship with Squash Blossoms. But I won’t, as I don’t really have one. I will offer you the short version and it goes like this: I’ve eaten Squash Blossoms more than I’ve prepared them. Which is to say, that up until Monday, I’m obligated to admit that I’d never cooked them, stuffed them, battered them or fried them. I simply had never gotten around to it.

I should be ashamed. Honestly, I’ve always felt they were a little complicated. I prefer un-complicated and, when it comes to my food, I still prefer un-complicated.
Let me be another person to admit that Squash blossoms are not complicated. In any way. They are dangerously easy. Period.

You can fill them with whatever you like. Cheese seems to work really well. But honestly, what isn’t good when it’s filled with cheese and fried?  I used goat cheese this time because I happen to have some in the fridge. I’ve also eaten ricotta-filled ones in the past and you know what? Those are good too.

Directions and Notes:

Squash Blossoms have a small window of availability and it is generally in late Spring and early Summer. They can be found at Farmer’s markets and specialty food stores.

To fill:

Delicately open the blossom and carefully remove the stamen. I stuffed my blossoms with about a tablespoon of Chevre and herbs (tarragon, chives, basil). Then fold the petals over each other and give them a twist to seal it all together.

In Culinary School I toyed with the idea of having the letters F.E.B. tattooed on the outside of my hand. Luckily, I didn’t. Luckily, I still know what F.E.B. stands for. For this recipe I took a different approach and didn’t use the -Flour, Egg, Bread- method.

I used this batter instead. If you have a favorite, I suggest you use it. Tempura would also be an appropriate way to go.

1 c. flour

1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 c. warm water

1 egg

For batter:

Combine flour, salt and warm water together. Stir and set aside. When you are ready to dip your blossoms, add the egg to the batter and stir.

Dip the filled blossoms in the batter and pan fry (medium heat) on both sides until golden brown.

I served these with a simple sauce of tomatoes, onions, garlic, and basil. Completely un-complicated.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 19, 2012 10

    I LOVE squash blossoms! “Dangerously easy” is for me, I am going to try this, thanks!

Leave a Reply

