Skip to content

Cobbler

July 27, 2011

When berries (blue, red, ras.) are in season all I can think about making is fruit cobbler. So that’s just what I did in celebration of the 4th of July. There was also some BBQ involved too (I’m Texan after all), a la Stubbs slathered ribs, and brisket courtesy of Memphis Minnies in the Haight (of all places).

Thank you, I do realize that it is way past the 4th and we’re now pushing on August, but I still wanted to share my love of fruit cobbler. Guess I’m just hoping you love it as much as I do, and that you can’t wait to view:

shots of fruit juices spilling over edges.

Keep scrolling…

So fresh berries are tossed together with a bit of sugar, lemon or orange zest (depending on berries being used and what kind of mood I’m in) and the juice of a lemon or orange. At least this is how I do it. Then I set aside said bowl of fruit and let it marinate (at room temp.) for 30 minutes to an hour (depending on your desperation for making the cobbler).

Then there’s the topping. Like BBQ, the toppings for cobbler are a much debated topic. When I make peach cobbler I prefer a biscuit-topping for the cobbler. When I make apple, pear or berry cobblers, I much prefer the streusel topping. I don’t know why, but it just works for me. But please don’t listen to me, just make it and eat it the way you like. This is a sharing space, so I’m sharing the recipe for the streusel:

8 oz. cold butter (cut into cubes)

5 oz. granulated sugar

4 oz. brown sugar

pinch of salt (or more to taste)

1 tsp. cinnamon, cardamom or ginger (or a nice sprinkle of each).

16 oz. A.P. flour

I prefer to use my hands, but you can also use a pastry cutter (if you’re the type to keep your hands clean). Combine all until pea-size and crumbly.

Add the fruit into individual ramekins or a medium size baking dish.

I prefer the individual dishes for the cobbler because well, I’m not that keen on sharing my cobbler. I’ve discovered people are much happier when served their very own. This is not a bad thing.

Cover with the streusel and bake at 350 degrees until the crust is golden brown and the juices are bubbling over the edges. I just love it when that happens.

This also works well for breakfast straight out of the fridge.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. NeneKat permalink
    August 6, 2011 10

    Wished I was there to taste!

  2. August 19, 2011 10

    That looks delicious and you make it sound easy! I heard about your site from a friend we have in common – Kelli Ford. Glad to have been tipped in the right direction! Yum.

    • August 19, 2011 10

      HI ,
      thanks for checking out my blog. I do know Kelli, we go way, way back. Glad she mentioned my site to you. I am definitely going to check out yours as well! Let me know if you need any tips on the cobbler, it is actually really simple! Enjoy,
      Alexa

Leave a Reply

