Skip to content

Lazy peach tart

August 23, 2011

I was flipping through many a recipe book of mine recently, and suddenly realized:
I sure have a lot of recipes for tart dough. Some called for ice water, others eggs. Some involved just yolks and good vanilla. Most required cold butter and everyone of them began with all-purpose flour. You’d think with all these options I’d have a winner. But honestly, I wasn’t exactly thrilled with any of them. Such a shame not to have that perfect tart dough. Especially when the fruit is fresh and comfort is on the brain. O.k. just gets you so far.

Monday  seemed like more than the perfect time to try a new pastry dough.

I call these Lazy Peach tarts, because there are times, yes those times, when all you’d like to do is  roll out some dough and spoon some fresh fruit over said dough. Then bake it.




The peaches are quickly blanched (to remove the skin), then sliced and thrown into a bowl with some brown sugar and a good splash of Orange Blossom water. I love it. It’s kinda of my secret (favorite) ingredient for sometime now. I’ve used it in panna cotta, cheesecake, sorbet, meringues, sauces and brittles. I’m always looking for a new way to use it and I have to say that with peaches, it’s a match made in heaven.

After the fruit is spooned onto the dough circles, fold the edges around the fruit. If this is sounding dangerously similar to a galette it’s because it is. The phrase Lazy Peach tart just has a nicer ring. Essentially it’s a free-form tart.

One more thing.

I never thought I’d find an acceptable peach outside of Texas. I’m sure folks from Georgia have the same sentiment. Please let me add, that these Californian varietals aren’t that bad. Not one bit. I could get used to these peaches.

Recipe for the tart dough adapted from this delightful book:

140 g. plain flour

30 g. confectioners sugar

75 g. chilled butter

1 yolk

1 nice pinch of salt

Sift flour and sugar. Blend butter with flour/sugar mixture until crumb like. Add yolk and mix well until dough comes together. Add a splash of water to bring dough together. Chill one hour or more, then roll out on a lightly floured surface.

And by the way, sometimes I’m not entirely lazy when it comes to my peach tarts. Sometimes I quite like tucking dough into creases of a tart molds. Pricking holes in the bottom and par-baking until the dough is almost cooked. Don’t forget to egg wash. Please don’t be lazy here.

Here’s the Non-lazy peach tart with a sprinkle of oats. Both taste just about the same.

Just about.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

