Skip to content

I left my heart in..

May 15, 2012









Embarcadero arrow

Blue Bottle cappuccino #1

INCREDIBLE Banana, cream and chocolate filled challah heart at Sandbox Bakery

Lunch view of Bay Bridge

Cappuccino #2 with the always stellar Cannelle from Boulette’s Larder

Oysters at The Ferry Building

Street view near Union Square

Oh look, it’s Blue Bottle cappuccino #3

Peanut brittle cookie and lavender ice cream from Mr. and Mrs. Miscellaneous

Drooling over challah in the window of Wise Sons Deli

Famished after a 9 hour work day (yes I went to work!), I feasted on a 2 day meal at Zapata’s. Grilled fish, rice, beans, salsa, guacamole, tortillas and a single Bohemia. Then for the very, very long walk up the hill..

Bike view at Four Barrel one morning where guess what? I had more coffee. The Barista let me smell the beans (I didn’t ask, he offered). Serious business and could have been a scene out of a short.

Never seen such prettier carrots. Saturday market at the Ferry Building.

I’m tired, it’s been a long, long morning (up since 3:30 a.m.), so after immediately getting off the Bart from Oakland, pulling 2 suitcases, 1 carry-on and a large purse, what do I do?  Get off at Embarcadero and schlep down Market (a few blocks) with said luggage just to get to 4505 Meats before 2 p.m. I made it! I took the Lamb Merguez Zilla-style and sat my happy ass down. 

After opting not to wait in the very long line at Foreign Cinema, I found myself in Bar Tartine where I breezed in easily and took refuge at the bar with a phenomenal plate of Eggs Benedict with rye toast, bacon and caraway hollandaise. The New York Times was read. After all, it was Sunday.

One of the heart’s in Union square

It’s true what they say. You don’t miss something until it’s gone. Being back in SF last month, I didn’t realize how much I really missed the City. Like an old glove (not OJ’s) the City just fit right back on. Or perhaps, I, fit right back on the City. Though to be fair, with the weather being fog-less, sunny and in the very low 70’s, this all helped my adoration entirely. Had it been pissing with rain and foggy the whole trip I’m sure I would have had different feelings. But sunny and fog-less in SF? Yep, we’ll take it. Amusing how the weather turns sunny and 71 degrees and the whole city is at Dolores park wearing shorts and sandals. It is like that. Though I was also in a constant state of removing jacket and scarf throughout the day (as one normally does), depending on what side of the street I was walking on, or what part of the City I was in.

I made a point to spend what little time I had at The Ferry Building. Simply because that’s where I previously spent much of my time and my days. If I was to have an old stomping ground in SF, this would certainly be it. During the week doing an account in FiDi, I’d pop over on Wednesday for my ritual of Blue Bottle and the New York Times. Thursdays was all about how fast I could get to 4505 Meats or Namu and Les Elements. Followed by more Blue Bottle. Saturday was the farmer’s market. Did I miss Monday? Might have been there also. Being back at Blue Bottle was touching. I felt missed. Same folks where there, just as long as a line and the very kind barista asked my name (as he always did) and commented that he hadn’t seen me….my heart melted slightly.

Some think of it as a tourist circus, and don’t get me wrong it is that. Very much. But if you catch it at the right time, and in the right light, it is a most magnificent place.

To be clear, from what it looks like in above photos, I didn’t just consume nothing but coffee, carbs, coffee, ice cream and junk. (Sort of). I did manage to eat some veggies several times and happily cooked a feast for 8 people (including 4 Italians, only 2 speaking English). The theme was Mex-Cal. I picked up a several ginormous bags of fava beans at the Ferry Building, ventured for fresh tortillas and found distraction in the Mission, by way of Humphry Slocombe and the Wise Sons Deli. Made my incredible guacamole, pico de gallo as I call it, and salsa fresca as Californians know it. As well as a bountiful salad that included herbs from the garden, cucumber and radishes (which we decided not to languish in butter this time). There was roasted chicken with fresh blue corn tortillas to assemble into tacos. The Italians didn’t get that far. As a side dish, I whole roasted the favas with minimal spears of asparagus and sprinkled them with pepitas and queso fresco. I also flame roasted some assorted peppers and blended those with olive oil, salt and a touch of sugar to make a sweet and spicy sauce for the favas. Interesting enough, all 8 people eating this meal had never eaten the favas whole. I was a little surprised, considering one of the Italians claimed to have grown up eating favas on his family’s farm. Everyone was amazed, delighted and seemed eager to roast favas whole for themselves. Who knew.

Admittingly there is much I didn’t do, eat or revisit in my short visit.

Next time SF, next time…. xoxo

One Comment leave one →
  1. Maria permalink
    August 13, 2012 10

    Ahhhh the wonderful life you have led…..full of passion, art, beauty and food…..hmmmmm

Leave a Reply

